The Apostolic Church (A)


The Apostolic Commission and the three-fold ministry

There are four features by which the Church, which Jesus founded, can be recognised today.  These features are One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic.  Today we are going to think about the Apostolic Church.

The Apostolic Church means the Church of the Apostles.  They were the first people to care for the Church which has now spread to all parts of the world.  The Church is now governed by Bishops and has the three-fold ministry of Bishop, Priest and Deacon.  Today we shall trace the three stages by which this came about.  The first stage began at Our Lord’s Resurrection and lasted two or three years; the second covered St Paul’s missionary journeys and the growth of the Church; and the third was towards the end of the lifetime of the Apostles when they appointed bishops to take their place.

Prev Next »